Reviving Chinese New Year Tradition – Writing Spring Festival Couplets

2012, time to turn over a new leaf.

This year is the Year of Dragon, according to Chinese Zodiac. If one were born in the Year of Dragon (like my friend was born in 1988), he or she should be especially cautious this year, because  it is likely that something unfortunate will happen to them. To prevent these things from happening, they will wear red stuff all year round, such as red pants, scarfs, whatever that comes in red and looks good on you. Redness can contribute to repelling evil forces that might surround you.

Speaking of Chinese new year tradition, people also write spring festival couplets, which are consisted of two lines that rhyme and have the same meter. We usually write with ink brush on red papers. When I was in elementary school, I had a chance to attend several classes in calligraph, therefore I can still grasp the basics of Chinese calligraph. When my former room mate Chris asked me if I would like to write couplets together for the new year, I was all for it!

Chris was given one pair of couplet from her Dad. Here was hers:

This was my first time writing couplets. I browsed online and found this pair that I really liked:

The left line reads: A pair of swallows came here with great news.

The right line reads: Jump over the Gate of Dragon to celebrate the New Year.

Hope they could bring good luck to me in the year of 2012, the year when I will be graduating with my Master’s degree and landing a job!

Leave a Reply

