Monthly Check in – October, 2015

It’s time to reflect on October!

In October, I was able to:

Stick to and exceed my reading plan. My minimum is 4 books a month: one fiction, one book on spiritual, a third one on marketing and a final one of any type of non-fiction. I ended up reading:

  • The Bell Jar – a great novel with beautiful language. It’s the only written novel by American writer and poet Sylvia Plath. It’s a semi autobiography about the protagonist’s struggle with mental illness.
  • The Hobbit. I’ve seen all the movies and always wanted to read the original. It’s interesting but not as enticing as I had hoped.
  • The anti-aging Diet. Interesting read. The author proposed a high-protein diet to boost metabolism for people in their mid-age. As I’m reading “The China Study” now, I’m not so sure about the validity of The Anti-Aging Diet.
  • Know Your Value by Mika Brzenzinski. This turns out to be a very inspirational book and a wake up call. It’s shocking how women was undervalued at work and didn’t know how to ask for more.
  • Build Better Knees. I’m suffering from IT band syndrome and haven’t been able to run for nearly 2 months. Anxious to get back on the treadmill, I turned to this book in the hope to get some ideas. The author offered a holistic approach to treat running related syndromes. I started following some exercise from the book and saw some improvement. The key is building a stronger, mobile core and a strong hip.
  • Let the Creativity Run. This is a book I randomly picked up from the local library. It inspired me to also get the “The Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert on how to unleash your creativity.
  • Education and the Significance of Life by Jiddu Krishnamurti. I make sure every month I read something on spiritual and this one is definitely worth the time and effort.
  • Be Here Now. when I received this book in the mail, I thought they mailed the wrong copy. Unlike regular books, the books were printed in seemingly handwritten letters on brown paper. And you turn the book side way to read it vertically.
  • Content Rules. This one turns out to be slightly disappointing. Not much new ideas I’d like to take from.

Apart from books, I also watched a couple movies.

I went hiking 2 weekends ago in the nearby French Creek State Park. A few friends and us did some BBQ first and then hiked for almost 2 hours. It was slightly chilly but nonetheless a beautiful day. So lucky to catch the tail of Fall 2015. Look how beautiful the scene is!

Hiking Scene_11.10

Fall scenery in French Creek State Park

Me Hiking_11.10

I was all wrapped us!

After hiking, Steve and I drove to Chinatown for a great feast! He got his usual salt and pepper crab and I love my Chinese broccoli and egg plants. We found the seafood restaurant called Tai Lake and almost went there every week. It’s super delicious.

Chinese broccoli and eggplants

Chinese broccoli and eggplants

I’ve been keeping up with my exercise routine. Because I couldn’t do as much intense cardio as before, I spent more time on strength training and started liking it.

On the writing front, I didn’t update the blog as much as I’d like. Still trying to get into the habit of writing. One thing that works well is jotting down blogger ideas right when they pop up in my head.

The last plan is figuring out what to do for Christmas. I wanted to go somewhere but don’t want to pay for the high airfare. So Steve and I settled on road trip. I’m thinking Burlington, Vermont for ski fun! We have about 5 days which allow ample time for 8 hours drive.

Overall October was an action packed month before the wonderful holiday hits!

Leave a Reply

